top of page

Usyk v Joshua || - The Expert Predictions

Alexander Usyk defends his unified heavyweight titles in an immediate rematch with Anthony Joshua, 10 months on from their first encounter which was won by the brilliant Ukrainian via unanimous decisio.


Here we get the expert predictions ahead of the mammoth clash out in Jeddah, Saudi Arabi. Will it be repeat or revenge?


Paul Butler


‘I think Usyk KO, I think he was a little reserved last time until late in the fight. If AJ is more aggressive like everyone saying he needs to be that could play into Usyk’s hands. But I do think AJ needs to go for it in the first 6’


Christopher Lovejoy


’Final thoughts: we’ll imo AJ didn’t have the killer mentality to make it a fight not a boxing match first time around, and all other interviews I’ve said that he won’t have it this time either, I usually go with the underdog, so I’m switching my pick from Usyk back to AJ as the underdog, I think he will stay behind the jab and make is DOGGISH when needed, I got AJ late stoppage’


DeAndre Savage


‘I believe AJ will get his belts back. He is the bigger guy and naturally stronger. I think he will control the fight this time and win with a late knockout, maybe 10th or 11th round’


Denzel Bentley


‘I can’t pick a winner. I’m team AJ but think Usyk might do it but if AJ can cut the ring off which will be hard because Usyk is a good mover then he’ll be able to stop him but I see it AJ by ko or Usyk on points’


Steve Robinson


‘I think Joshua needs to rough him up as he knows he can’t out box him. Lean on him, bully him, show him a true heavyweight and stop Usyk getting into a rhythm. I think he’ll KO him before 6, if he doesnt KO him before 6 it’ll be a hard long final 6 rounds!’


Matt Windle


‘We need to see a more aggressive, assertive Joshua for this fight. That doesn't mean reckless but I don't believe that he will beat Usyk on the back foot the way that he did Ruiz in their rematch. He needs to remain patient & compact and hope to wear Usyk down in order for him to stamp his authority.

Unfortunately, I believe that Usyk simply has too much boxing IQ - and incentive to inspire his whole country - and I can't see anything other than a Usyk win’



30 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page