top of page

SimBoxx Talks To Jason Moloney


Top Rank were the first major boxing promotion to put on a show, albeit behind closed doors & with stringent testing measure, during the current Covid-19 pandemic, starting with a Shakur Stevenson headline act back June 9th they’ve ran two or three shows per week since.


This week sees the Top Rank debuts of Aussie boxing twins Andrew & Jason Moloney, WBA super flyweight champion Andrew boxes 23/06 whilst bantamweight contender Jason boxes 48 hours later.



Luke caught up with Jason to get an insight to fight week within ‘The Bubble’


Hi Jason, thanks for taking the time to speak to SimBoxx, you have your fight with Leornado Baez coming up this week, how have preparations gone for the fight with the whole pandemic situation going on?

My preparation has been fantastic, I could not be more ready than what I am right now.

I have my own private gym back home in Australia so I was able to continue to train every single day throughout this pandemic.

I’m a true professional who likes to stay in the gym year round and am always striving to improve and be the best fighter I can be so even when it didn’t look like I would be fighting for quite some time I was still working as hard as ever.

Now I’ve had another 4 weeks over here in Vegas, had some great sparring and have finished an excellent training camp. I am 100% ready to go!


How do you think you’ll be adapt to boxing behind closed doors without a live audience?


Boxing behind closed doors is not something I’m worried about at all. I am just stoked that I am able to get in the ring and continue progressing with my career and continue chasing a world title.


I have fought in front of small crowds before as an amateur and I spar 2-3 times a week with no crowd. I will just be focused on the fight and doing whatever it takes to win.


The audience I will have on tv will be the biggest audience that I’ve ever fought in front of so I really want to impress.


What’s your thoughts on your opponent Leandro Baez (18-2)?


Leonardo Baez is a tough opponent. He really comes to fight and throws a lot of heavy shots but I am more than ready for this challenge. I am on a mission to become world champion and I will not let anybody stop me from achieving my dream.




With a lot of KO victories on your record, 17 of your 20 wins coming via stoppage, is going for the knockout a big part of your game plan?


No, it’s not really a part of the game plan. Ideally I finish all of my opponents via KO but it’s not something I look too hard for. If I am able to control the fight and dominate the way I want to then a KO is like the icing on the cake.

Finally, all being well & you pick up the victory against Baez, what can we expect from Jason Moloney moving forward?


I want to become World Champion. I believe I am ready to take on any of the current World Champions at bantamweight. I want to make a real statement against Baez and show that I am ready and I deserve my title shot.




Follow SimBoxx across all social media platforms


🥊Twitter: @SimBoxx


📸Instagram: @Sim_Boxx


🎥YouTube: SimBoxx Boxing


📱Facebook: SimBoxx


💻 www.simboxx.co.uk


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page