top of page

SimBoxx Talks To Gavin Gwynne

Last time out Welshman Gavin Gwynne bounced back from a career first loss in emphatic fashion, knocking out Abdon Cesar in the very first round.


His first professional loss came at the hands of the brilliant, then champion, Joe Cordina with the British & Commonwealth titles on the line, in the garden of Matchroom HQ, Gwynne is once again afforded the opportunity to win the prestigious British title as takes on the big punching James Tennyson, Luke of SimBoxx caught up with him to get his thoughts on behind closed doors boxing & more...



Finally boxing is back, how excited are you to get back to work & in such a high profile bout, boxing for the British lightweight title v James Tennyson?


It's a massive fight for me it's not just British title - it's a life changing fight because when I beat James I’ll have a world ranking as well so I'm going to jump at the chance.

Your stock risen considerably on the back of your gutsy performance in your previous British title bout against Joe Cordina, a bout that was very competitive, how much do you feel you took from that fight?


When I lost it was the worst feeling in the world and I don't want to feel that again but yes, I lost a close fight with many positives I took from it, one being I can box at that level and go on to better titles.

How did you manage to tailor your training in the whole lockdown period? Aside from the lack of sparring what issues did you encounter?


I've trained all way through! I love training, you could call me a gym rat so I haven't needed much time to get fit it's just the lack of sparring but we have got about 50 odd rounds in the past couple weeks behind closed doors so I'll be ready come fight night!!

James Tennyson is on a solid win of consecutive KO victories, how important do you think using your natural size advantages to negate his power will be?


Yes he's a massive puncher but I can use that against him. I'm going to use my boxing ability and put a master class on.

How do you feel you’ll deal with the Fight Camp being behind closed doors & no fans being present?


It's a fight at the end of the day, the other man is going to try take my head off so it's going to be no different to me. I love to have a dust up so I'd fight anywhere if I'm honest & that belt be coming back to the Valleys with me!

James Tennyson v Gavin Gwynne for the British lightweight title is part of a packed Week 1 of Fight Camp, August 1st.



Follow SimBoxx across all social media platforms


🥊Twitter: @SimBoxx

📸Instagram: @Sim_Boxx


🎥YouTube: SimBoxx Boxing

📱Facebook: SimBoxx

💻 www.simboxx.co.uk












6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page