top of page

SimBoxx Talks To Freddy Kiwitt

The lockdown period has enabled the team at SimBoxx to bring the ‘SimBoxx Talks To’ series to new heights with unparalleled chats with an array of figures across the boxing spectrum, in this episode Luke caught up with welterweight contender Freddy Kiwitt.

LC: Hi Freddy,

Thanks for taking the time to speak to SimBoxx, first & foremost i hope you & you’re family are keeping self & well during this difficult lockdown situation, how are you keeping yourself active with such limited outdoor time?

FK: Yes we are doing great, thanks. Hope you and your family too.

I was about to fight on March 22 in Accra, Ghana and had to come back home to the UK a couple of days before the fight. So I took the first time in lockdown mainly to recover, only now just started to train a bit again.

LC: Glad to hear you’re all well, we’re doing ok too

I find your background absolutely fascinating, you were born in Liberia & moved to Germany young before coming to the UK to pursue a boxing career

What are your earliest memories of lacing up a pair of boxing gloves?

FK: I was 18 when I first started boxing. Never looked back since.

LC: Was there anything in particular that inspired you to become a boxer?

FK: It was after I started training where I got inspired by Muhammad Ali skills as a boxer and as a human.

LC: Such a great source for many a fighter is Muhammed Ali, a true icon

What is your amateur background with boxing? Do you remember your amateur record?

FK: Yes I had about 15 wins and 1 loss. Started in Germany and then moved to the UK at 7-0 boxing for Exeter Abc, before turning professional.

LC: What was the main reason for you deciding to relocate to England at that point?

FK: I had a dream to become a professional boxer and the UK was the place to do it in Europe. Never imagined coming so far starting off but the hard work was soon paying off.

LC: Once you made the transition over to the UK & you continued your amateur career what were the major differences you encountered? Was there a higher quality in terms of training or sparring etc?

FK: Yes definitely, much more technical and much more popular. Many more gyms around and great sparring sessions.

LC: If we can move on to your professional debut (a points victory over Matt Seawright), something I’m sure you’re immensely proud of, take us through the build up to the fight & any nerves you had ahead of boxing professionally for the first time?

FK: Sure, I wasn’t really nervous but I didn’t know what to expect. It was a great feeling to get introduced into the pro ranks and start with a win.

LC: In 2015, you returned to Germany to box for the first time as a pro, how was that as an experience & being able to go back to your adopted homeland to display your skills?

FK: It was great to fight in Germany and have all my friends and family there. Most of them have never seen me box before. I remember people didn’t believe I’m German because of the way I was fighting.


LC: In 2016 you boxed Michael Mora, picking up a TKO victory on the under card Jurgen Braehmer’s world title defence, how did it feel being able to display your skills on such a high profile platform?

FK: It was amazing feeling fighting on a big platform like that and on a undercard of a world title but also being able to perform in front of and win more fans.

LC: Can you tell us about your first loss, against Akeem Ennis Brown, a very close fight that you lost by a tight margin, what did you learn from the first defeat & do you think you improved on the back of that performance?

FK: That was the only fight I fought at 140lbs I have never boxed that low. I’m a big welterweight and I just couldn’t perform at that weight. I’ve learned to listen more to myself instead, I was listening my to former team but they are not the once standing in the ring.


LC: If we can fast forward to 2019 & a year that began with you picking up the WBO European title with a majority decision victory over Paddy Gallagher…

FK: Yes, great fight and victory, came in again as the away fighter but got the decision.


LC: You then went on to claim the African Boxing Union welterweight title, a 4th round stoppage victory over Samuel Turkson, another title victory, can you explain your thoughts on that fight & winning an African title?

FK: Yes it was something I always dreamed of – winning an African as well as a European title as it’s represents both continents from my parents.

LC: Such great accomplishments, then later in the year you picked up a win in Denmark, a stoppage win against Nika Nakashidze before taking a fight with Luther Clay on a big Matchroom card less than 8 weeks later… a very busy end to the year!

FK: Yes, the aim was to get 4 fights in (2019). Denmark was just a stay busy fight as we knew we were meant to fight (Luther) Clay (but) unfortunately the fight didn’t go our way.


LC: Can I get your thoughts on the Luther Clay fight, unfortunately, as you say, it didn’t go your way..

FK: Yes, we were very confident going into the fight. I got ill a couple of days before but still thought we would win. I just couldn’t perform that night, thought I was leading going into the second half of the fight but then suddenly felt very weak and tired. Normally I get better as the fight goes on but I guess I hadn’t fully recovered from my illness. It was my great chance but I hope I can make it right soon again.

LC: Looking beyond the current situation what’s the next career move for Freddy Kiwitt?

FK: I wanted to bounce straight back against a good opponent but unfortunately my fight got cancelled a few days before against Eric Kapia. So hoping our current situation will soon change so I can have a fight again or as planned.

‘5 to Finish’

1. Your biggest inspiration?

Muhammed Ali

2. Favourite fight of your career?

Winning the WBO European title against Gallagher

3. All time favourite fight?

Gatti v Ward

4. All time favourite boxer?

Roy Jones Jr

5. Dream opponent at your weight class?

Right now rematch with Luther Clay, overall Manny Paquiao


Follow SimBoxx across all social media platforms


🥊Twitter: @SimBoxx

📸Instagram: @Sim_Boxx

🎥YouTube: SimBoxx Boxing

💻Facebook: SimBoxx


All follows, likes & subscribes greatly appreciated👊🥊

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page