top of page

Kombat’s Kolumn






As most of you will have already seen Gamal Yafai was crowned Super Bantamweight European Champion after a unanimous points victory over Luca Rigoldi in Italy last Thursday.


Gamal showed great experience and skill throughout the fight, taking control and winning comfortably in my eyes. If anyone missed it give it a watch it’s an exciting fight to see!!


To have shared a ring with ‘The Beast’ (trust me he lives up to his name and hits like a mule) is an honour and seeing him go on to lift that title after an excellent display was a great thing to see.


After boxing Gamal in November 2019 i wished him all the best on his challenge for the European title and was confident after feeling his power and seeing his skill first hand he would have that arm raised.


Gamal is nothing but humble, genuine and an all round nice guy from what i have experienced. Coming back from double bicep tears and a year away from the sport makes this success even more remarkable.


I for one will be supporting Gamal all the way to those World titles!! I am more than confident that he has the skill, power and boxing brain to achieve this in the near future.


Not only would this make me ecstatic for Gamal it would also make me proud of my own boxing achievements to have shared a ring and i feel gave a good account of myself against such a talented champion.


I don’t feel there is much more i can say other than WELL DONE GAMAL now go after those WORLD TITLES!!!!!


Lee Clayton






13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page